Faith-Based Programs

Everything in Girl Scouting is based on the Girl Scout Promise and Law. The Girl Scout Law includes many of the principles and values common to most faiths. Girl Scouts has, since the movement began in 1912, encouraged girls to participate in faith-based programs, taking a spiritual journey via their faiths’ religious recognitions.

“The motivating force in Girl Scouting is spiritual.” –GSUSA’s Blue Book of Basic Documents, 2012 edition

My Promise, My Faith

MyPromiseMyFaithGirls of all grade levels can earn the My Promise, My Faith award developed by Girl Scouts of the USA. This award, which girls can earn once a year, allows girls of any religious background to further strengthen the connection between their faith and Girl Scouts. A girl earns the My Promise, My Faith award by carefully examining the Girl Scout Law and directly tying it to tenets of her faith. Requirements for this award are included in The Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting for all Girl Scout grade levels. You can help girls get started by working through the Your Faith and Girl Scouts: Make the Connection booklets for Girl Scout Daisies, Brownies, and Juniors and for Girl Scout Cadettes, Seniors, and Ambassadors.

Faith organizations provided valuable guidance in the creation of the My Promise, My Faith award, ensuring that girls of all faiths can earn the award. These organizations view it as a significant award that complements the current religious recognitions P.R.A.Y. offers.

Here is an outline of the basic steps a girl must follow to earn the award:

    • Pick a line from the Girl Scout Law.
    • Interview a woman in your own or another faith-based community.
    • Find three inspirational quotes by women that fit with that line of the Girl Scout Law.
    • Make something, like a drawing, painting, or poster.
    • Make a commitment to live what you’ve learned.

* For the complete guidelines, see The Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting.

Click on the Girl Scout grade levels below to see the guidelines for earning the My Promise, My Faith award:

Girl Scout Daisies
Girl Scout Brownies
Girl Scout Juniors
Girl Scout Cadettes
Girl Scout Seniors
Girl Scout Ambassadors

Purchase your copy of The Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting and My Promise, My Faith awards at our Girl Scout Shops or online.

Religious Recognitions

toservegodReligious recognitions are created by national religious organizations/committees to encourage the spiritual growth of their youth members and reinforce many of the values integral to Girl Scouting. While My Promise, My Faith helps girls connect Girl Scouting with their faith, the religious recognitions programs help girls grow stronger in and learn more specifically about their faith.

Each religious organization/committee develops and administers its own program. The To Serve God religious recognitions brochure shows the recognitions that have been created by various faith groups. You can find this brochure, a video that explains the religious recognitions programs, and other resources for collaborating with the faith community at P.R.A.Y. Publishing. A directory with links to several religious organizations’ Girl Scout pages is available here.

Some religious organizations are not affiliated with P.R.A.Y. or may not have a national office; to learn about their religious recognitions, contact their local leaders.

What are religious recognitions?

  • Religious recognitions are available in over 25 different faiths.
  • Girls can earn the recognitions independently of their troop.
  • Religious recognitions programs are created by the various religious groups to encourage girls to grow stronger in their faith.
  • GSUSA recognizes these programs and allows the recognition to be worn on the official uniform.
  • Each religious organization develops and administers it’s own program.

The To Serve God religious recognitions brochure has detailed information on who to contact for your particular faith.

How do I get started on these programs?

    1. Download the To Serve God religious recognitions brochure.
    2. Contact the religious organization directly to order the workbook (information for each faith is on the To Serve God religious recognitions brochure). Each girl needs her own booklet to document progress. Some religions offer adult manuals for counselors and mentors.
    3. Parents should review the program guidelines. Some programs require that girls be official “members” of the religious institution. Age/grade requirements vary from program to program. Each program sets its own guidelines as to who may serve as counselor. Some programs require clergy to serve as counselor, other programs allow parents or other family members to serve as counselor.
    4. Girls must complete the requirements, obtain proper signatures, and follow the instructions to order the recognition or pin. These recognitions or pins are not available in our Girl Scout Resource Store. The recognitions should be presented in a meaningful ceremony, and can be presented at any time of the year.

For more information about the religious recognitions for any faith check out P.R.A.Y. (Programs of Religious Activities with Youth).





Home » Awards & Recognitions » Faith-Based Programs
Translate »